Hugh E. Taylor Named to UNLV’s Hall of Fame

I remember the first time I went to meet Mr. Taylor and his wonderful wife Priscilla. My husband and I were trying to figure out what had originally been in the place of a 1960s floor-to-ceiling bar in our living room. At that meeting, I not only got to see the plans for my house but I came away having secured the donation of the entire archives to the Nevada Preservation Foundation. I like to think that this was the start of a collaboration between the Taylors and NPF. One that we hope will continue for some time.

So, you can imagine how excited we were to hear that Mr. Taylor was to receive the Sidney Award. We are fans of Mr. Taylor’s work and know that with more than 1,000 architectural projects to his name, Mr. Taylor may be the most influential residential architect in our state’s history. Below are some excerpts from the letter Mr. Taylor received from UNLV.

“On behalf of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas College of Fine Arts and the College Advisory Board, I am very pleased to inform you that the Board has selected you as an honoree to receive the Sidney Award at the 2016 Nevada Entertainer/Artist Hall of Fame ceremony at UNLV. Your countless contributions to the architecture and to the Las Vegas community have made you a clear choice among many deserving nominees.

The Nevada Entertainer/Artist Hall of Fame at UNLV was founded to honor residents of Southern Nevada who have made a significant impact on the arts, including visual and performing arts and architecture. Recipients are given the Sidney Award, named for Academy award-winning director and Las Vegas resident George Sidney, who was posthumously inducted at the inaugural Nevada Entertainer/Artist Hall of Fame at UNLV. A few past recipients include famed actor Tony Curtis; singers Phyllis McGuire, Wayne Newton, Robert Goulet and Clint Holmes; architects Tony Marnell, John Klai, Thomas Shoeman and Bill Snyder; impressionist Rich Little and Danny Gans; producers Frederic Apcar and Anthony Zuicker; and interior designer Roger Thomas. Last year’s 2015 Hall of Fame recipients were Keith Boman, Gary Nelson and Paul Curtis Steelman.

The ceremony is scheduled for the evening of Tuesday, March 15, 2016 on the UNLV campus. We hope that you will accept your nomination and will be able to attend the dinner/ceremony.”

On behalf of the Nevada Preservation Foundation: Congratulations, Hugh!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment